If you commit a driving violation in Illinois, you may receive points on your driving record. After a certain number of points, the Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver’s license.
Understand the point system so you can retain your driving privileges in Illinois.
Types of point violations
Speeding is one of the most common point-based offenses in Illinois. You could receive five points for driving up to 10 miles per hour above the speed limit, 15 points for up to 14 mph over the posted limit, 20 points for up to 25 mph over the posted limit and 50 points for speeds exceeding that threshold.
Improper turning is a 10-point ticket, but you could receive 15 points for an illegal U-turn. Common 20-point violations include speeding in a school zone, failure to yield to a pedestrian, improper passing and ignoring a traffic signal. Drivers who travel with an open container of alcohol will receive 25 points on top of criminal penalties for driving under the influence. The state considers reckless driving one of the most serious violations and gives drivers 55 points for this type of ticket.
Grounds for suspension
If you are older than age 21, your license could be at risk if you have more than 15 points on your license. If you have no prior license suspensions, you could lose your license for two months with 15 to 44 points, six months with 45 to 89 points, nine months with 90 to 99 points or a full year with 100 to 109 points.
Illinois can permanently cancel your driver’s license if you get more than 110 points on your record with the Department of Motor Vehicles.